Wartburg - Preisträger Hans-Dietrich Genscher gemeinsam mit Roland Dumas und Krzysztof Skubiszewski

Wartburg Castle award for exceptional services to the cause of European integration

Since 1992 the Wartburg Castle Foundation has presented an award that acknowledges outstanding services to the cause of European integration, which also includes German reunification.


Positive signals for Europe

The preamble to the statute governing the Wartburg Castle award states that the future of Europe depends on the common understanding of its people and the development of a European way of thinking: "It is not possible to move towards a new identity without a mutual appreciation of the political and cultural consciousness of the nations that are uniting. Respect for national history and identity is a prerequisite for building the trust that is needed among the European nations.

In view of Wartburg Castle's importance in history and its symbolic significance in the present day, the Wartburg Castle Foundation is confident that the castle, which is situated in Eisenach at the heart of Europe, is a worthy place for awarding a prize in honour of services to political and cultural integration in Europe".

Since its foundation in 1922, the aim and mission of the Wartburg Castle Foundation has been to preserve Wartburg Castle, together with its art treasures, in keeping with its status as a cultural site of international standing – one that is recognised by UNESCO – and a monument of German history, and to make the castle universally accessible. That is why it can be a place from which signals can be sent out, signals for Europe.

The award, which is endowed with €20,000, takes the form of a bronze sculpture decorated with quartz and was created by the Halle sculptor Professor Bernd Göbel.

Award winners

1992: Hans-Dietrich Genscher together with Roland Dumas and Krzysztof Skubiszewski

1993: Peter Schreier

1994: Alfred Grosser

1995: Richard Freiherr von Weizsäcker

1996: Hilmar Hoffmann

1997: Paul Oestreicher

1998: Jack Lang

1999: Franz Kardinal König

2000: Joachim Gauck

2001: Roman Herzog

2002: Hildegard Hamm-Brücher

2003: Bernhard Vogel

2005: Felipe González

2006: Carla Del Ponte

2007: Ferenc Mádl

2008: Hans-Gert Pöttering

2011: Volkhard Knigge